Dr. Curtis Jones Leadership Award Scholarship


Dr. Jones is a graduate of the United States Military Academy at West Point and earned a doctorate degree in educational leadership from Nova Southeastern University.  He served in the United States Army, retiring as a Lieutenant Colonel.  Dr. Jones is an educator with more than 20 years of experience. He began his career in education as a JROTC instructor with the Griffin-Spalding County School System in Griffin, Georgia. He became a high school principal and then advanced to assistant superintendent, then superintendent before coming to Bibb County. He was named Superintendent of the Bibb County Public School District in 2014.  The Macon-Bibb County community created this scholarship in his honor after he was named the 2019 National Superintendent of the Year.

2019 Scholarship Recipient – Asher Keely Testa


The purpose of this scholarship is to award a college scholarship in honor of Dr. Jones’s leadership to a graduating senior from a Bibb County Public School District high school who exemplifies Dr. Jones’s guiding principles of Leadership, Scholarship and Citizenship.

Nomination Criteria

The Principal of each Bibb County School District high school may nominate up to three graduating seniors to be considered for the Dr. Curtis Jones Leadership Award Fund.  The nominees will then complete the scholarship application, and one recipient will be chosen annually.

Eligibility Criteria

Applicants must:

  • Be nominated by their high school principal
  • Be a graduating senior of a Bibb County School District high school
  • Have a minimum 3.5 cumulative GPA in high school
  • Be a well-rounded student, involved in extra-curricular activities and athletics.
  • Exhibit qualities of leadership, scholarship and/or citizenship
  • You may be asked for an interview as part of the application process.

Selection Criteria

Applicants will be selected based on the following:

  • Qualities of leadership, scholarship and/or citizenship

Additional Short Answer Questions and Attachments

On the last page of the application, you will select the Dr. Curtis Jones Leadership Award Scholarship Fund and complete the following additional information:

  • Three Personal Statements:
    1. Describe an experience that sparked your interest in your intended major or career field. How do you plan to achieve your career goal?
    2. Provide one example of a challenge you have overcome or a problem you have solved. What was the challenge or problem, and how did you overcome it? What did you learn from this?
    3. Give one example of a way you have given back to your community, through a volunteer activity or by helping another person. What was the impact as a result of your service?
  • A resume listing your school and community activities, athletics, awards, leadership offices held and other relevant experiences.
  • Your most recent high school transcript.
  • A current, submitted FAFSA Student Aid Report that indicates the value of your Expected Family Contribution (EFC) in the upper right hand corner.


Amount of Award:  Initially $1,875 per year, renewable for up to 4 years in college

Number of Awards:  One recipient will be selected annually.

Renewal for Prior Recipients:  A prior recipient of this scholarship fund is eligible to renew the award each subsequent year of his/her undergraduate education career for up to four years. In order to renew, he/she must:

  • Complete the online renewal application in CFCG’s Web Portal by March 15th of each year.
  • Submit an unofficial transcript to scholar@cfcga.org at the end of each fall and spring semester for which he/she receives the scholarship.
  • Maintain a minimum 3.0 cumulative GPA in college.

If a prior recipient does not maintain the eligibility criteria or faces unique circumstances that require him/her to take time off or take a reduced course load for a semester, the student should contact the Community Foundation to determine if he/she is eligible for continued funding.

Donate To A Fund